“Scars to Prove It” Table of Contents

A few folks have asked me to post the Table of Contents to Scars to Prove It: The Civil War Soldier and American Fiction.  Here are the contents, with the chapter titles conveying something about what can be found in each section.  I have also listed the relevant page numbers, to give one a sense of how the book is divided:

Introduction [1]

1. Various Veterans Had Told Him Tales:
The Red Badge of Courage and an Inclusive Civil War Literature [9]

2. For Was I Not a Soldier, Enlisted for the War?:
Female Veterans in Gone with the Wind and None Shall Look Back [39]

3. The Eggshell Shibboleth of Caste and Color Too:
Civilian Narrators in Absalom, Absalom! and The Unvanquished [83]

4. Each Man Has His Own Reason to Die:
The Triumph of the Individual in The Killer Angels [118]

Conclusion: Grief Crowded the Secret Rooms of Their Hearts:
Haunted Veterans in The Judas Field [160]

Notes [170]

Bibliography [200]

Index [215]

4 Responses to ““Scars to Prove It” Table of Contents”

  1. Melissa Says:

    I’ve asked Alderman to order it, in case they haven’t already. Looking forward to putting a Warren footnote in at least one of my diss chapters!

  2. Camille Cooper Says:

    It’s wonderful when the web answers my exact question! Thanks so much for posting the TOC; I’ll order it for our library.

  3. Camille Cooper Says:

    I’ll order the book, that is. ;-)

  4. craig warren Says:

    Thanks, Melissa and Camille, for ordering books for your libraries!

    Camille: I’m glad the TOC was helpful. I think it offers a pretty clear picture of what readers will find in each chapter.

Leave a Reply

When the square watch was particularly welcomed by replica rolex women in the 1920s, men began to rolex replica abandon the round pocket watch and change the watch during this period. In order to break the tradition, while retaining the practical elements, the watch factory began to use a square case, because it is easier to install leather strap. This design won the favor of rolex replica watches the trendsetters at the time, and this innovative shape quickly became a fashion indicator of replica watches uk the era.